IABC 2010 World Conference News & Views, 6-9 June 2010, Toronto

  • Subscriptions

  • Login

  • IABC 2010 World Conference on Twitter: #IABC10

  • Congratulations to winners of IABC Fellow and Chairman’s Awards!

    June 21st, 2010 by Archana Verma

    At the Opening General Session in Toronto, earlier this month, three long-time IABC members were recognized for their contributions to IABC.

    Sonja Tiscenko received this year’s Chairman’s Award from 2009-2010 IABC Chair Mark Schumann, ABC. Originally from New Zealand, Sonja has lived and worked in Papua New Guinea, Ukraine, Czech Republic and her current home, Tanzania. She is a founding (and continuing) board member of IABC/Tanzania where she is involved in planning and hosting IABC events. She also supports Africa Region’s Ubuntu chapter. She was a member the Global Task Force steering committee (now closed), and is a member of IABC’s Knowledge Group editorial advisory panel.


    This year’s IABC Fellow Awards were given to William Briggs and Annette Martell, ABC, MC.

    Bill Briggs is director and full-time tenured professor at the School of Journalism and Mass Communication at San Jose State University (SJSU) in California. A longtime IABC member, Briggs has served two terms as director on the international executive board, has been a trustee of the IABC Research Foundation, chair of IABC’s ethics committee, chair of IABC’s educator’s academy, and judge for the Gold Quill Awards Blue Ribbon Panel.  He is the association’s representative to the Global Alliance for Public Relations and Communication Management.


    Annette Martell is an independent management consultant and a founding associate of PowerIn. She was the chair of the International Executive Board in 2002–2003 and led the organization through significant change, including international restructuring of: governance, dues pricing and financial recovery. She has been IABC’s representative to the Global Alliance for Public Relations and Communication Management since 2005, and held many volunteer positions with the organization including judging awards on the Gold Quill Awards Blue Ribbon Panel; chair of IABC international executive board nominations committee; and president of the IABC/Atlantic Canada chapter.


    Thank you, Sonja, Bill and Annette for your contributions to IABC!

    Photos by